Is this a rear engine kart?

Post all your vintage karting messages here in the General Discussion Forum

Moderator: Rob Voska

Bill Gorham
Vintage Karting items owned: Margay kart
West Bend and Mac Engines

Is this a rear engine kart?

Post by Bill Gorham » Sun Apr 13, 2008 12:53 am

Hello to all. I am new to the vintage karts and looking for a bit of help. I have been searching for vintage kart engines to run in my vintage chainsaws. In the search I have became interested in the karts. I am wondering if this kart is considered a rear engine. I understand the 4 stroke is not original.

Thanks,
Bill
Attachments
Kart 18.JPG
(90.35 KiB) Downloaded 1328 times

steveohara
Vintage Karting items owned: 1969 Bug Sprint Mc 91B1
1965 Dart Gran Prix twin Mc100s
1963 Bug Scorpion ESll Mc45

Re: Is this a rear engine kart?

Post by steveohara » Sun Apr 13, 2008 2:51 am

Bill,

That is a Margay chassis that can be used as a rear engine kart. Look around at the pictures on this site and I think you'll find some shots of that chassis with a Margay gearbox drive system mounted behind the seat. You would get rid of the swing mount that hangs off the rear axle and the engine (Mac or WB) would mount directly to the gearbox.
Steve O'Hara

Rob Voska

Post by Rob Voska » Sun Apr 13, 2008 7:26 am

Bill G
Please use your real first and last name when registering. If your posts have been deleted you now know why. Please edit your profile. Thank You

FYI - you can change your user name after joining. Go to upper right corner, and click on USER CONTROL PANEL, pick PROFILE from menu on the left, then pick sub menu EDIT ACCOUNT SETTINGS. Then replace your user name with your real name.

Dan Flanders
Vintage Karting items owned: Pimped out Yerf-Dog with 22" spinners
User Agreement: Yes

Post by Dan Flanders » Sun Apr 13, 2008 10:44 pm

Hi Bill-