Clinton Clutch Build

Post all your vintage karting messages here in the General Discussion Forum

Moderator: Rob Voska

REAR

Clinton Clutch Build

Post by REAR » Mon Jan 07, 2019 6:39 am

If you read the 'Colossal Clinton' and the 'Mounting a Clinton on a Uni-Mount' thread your aware that I made mention of acquiring a Clinton E65 courtesy of Terry Sullivan and John McCorvey and now its time to move onto getting a clutch mounted up on this beast. LOL!

As I also mentioned earlier, I have no experience with Clinton engines so I basically have been bugging the hell out of Terry and John picking their brains as I go and when I asked them about what to use for a clutch they both said the same thing, "minibike clutch". Terry and John both agreed on this type of clutch with a real simple logic, minibike clutches are readily available and do to the low power of the E65 engagement speed should be close.

Alright, I'm off to Ebay to order a 5/8" shaft, 11 tooth minibike clutch. Upon arrival I was quite disappointed that the clutch I received was a rip-off copy of a Max-Torque SS six shoe and it felt quite heavy for my low horsepower engine with a known weak crankshaft so I decided to look around to see what else was available and I really didn't find anything to my liking so I decided to build my own clutch.

Here is what I originally purchased.

I have always been a fan of the original Max-Torque 2 shoe clutches from the sixties due to there performance, lightweight, and simplicity so I decided that's what I need to build. Fortunately I had the needed shoes and springs that will be needed for this build in my spare parts supply

To give you a idea of what I want to make below is a photo of a original clutch for a West-Bend 580 that I will replicate for a Clinton.

Step 1, Take my Ebay clutch and press it apart, all I will be needing for my clutch will be the center 'driver' and the clutch drum with the sprocket.

I'm using only the driver, the drum, and the sprocket.